Log in

Previous Entry | Next Entry

50 Books - 5, 6 & 7

Goddess of the Hunt
by Tessa Dare

Burning Lamp - 8th in the Arcane Society series
by Amanda Quick
Read book 8 before 7. They don't make sense otherwise.

SETTING: Late Victorian England

The Arcane Society was born in turmoil when the friendship of its two founders evolved into a fierce rivalry. Nicholas Winters's efforts led to the creation of a device of unknown powers called the Burning Lamp. Each generation of male descendants who inherits it is destined to develop multiple talents - and the curse of madness." "Plagued by hallucinations and nightmares, notorious crime lord Griffin Winters is convinced he has been struck with the Winters Curse. But even has he arranges a meeting with the mysterious social reformer, Adelaide Pyne, he has no idea how closely their fates are bound, for she holds the missing lamp in her possession." But their dangerous psychic experiment makes them the target of forces both inside and outside of the Arcane Society. And though desire strengthens their power, their different lives will keep them apart - if death doesn't take them together.

Fired Up - 7th book in the Arcane Society series
by Jayne Ann Krentz
SETTING: Seattle and Las Vegas, 21st Century

Suffering recurring blackouts, Jack Winters fears he is falling victim to the centuries-old Winters curse and will turn into an unstable monster if he doesn't locate the legendary Burning Lamp. Jack seeks help from smart, skeptical PI Chloe Harper, whose rare dreamlight talent is necessary to work the lamp's magic. But others, some with far more sinister agendas, are also in search of the lamp, and as the puzzle pieces slowly fall into place, the danger to Jack and Chloe ratchets up.